Outfit for a cold January day (bargain style)

It’s trickier to look good in winter. And stay warm. Too many winter clothes seem bulky, shapeless, and generally unflattering. I like body-fitting clothes that don’t allow chilly breezes to easily pass through and also let me feel more woman, less abominable snowman.

P_20160113_105926

 

I’ve had these Miss Posh (a UK brand) legging pants for several years. I found them discounted at a Ross store. I call them “legging pants” because they have structure and some heft, unlike so many flimsy leggings that soon pill and stretch out (and you wouldn’t dream of wearing without a long, butt-covering top).

A local church thrift store put out its winter stock in 2015 when it was still kinda warm and nobody was looking at sweaters. I happened to be there that day and pounced on the opportunity to look through the clothes before they were too picked-over. That’s how I found this great (International Concepts) sweater for $3. Sweaters usually itch the hell out of me, besides which most second hand ones are stretched out and often pretty hideous. So I don’t own many sweaters. This was a great find. The arms are long enough for me – yay – and it’s non-itchy.

P_20160113_112138

I made these earrings recently. So festive.

I got the Lauren Conrad boots for a couple bucks at a thrift store. Lace-up boots are fun and sexy. A low-heel and warm, faux-fur lining make these practical as well.

The unstructured hat, which I found in the Fall for $2 at big yard sale featuring many sellers, has a furry feel to the touch (like a soft cat) and compliments the sweater’s fabric. It doesn’t have a brand name on it but the tag says it’s made of nylon & spandex. I have a small collection of pretty pins and add them to my coats and hats. It seems silly to put on jewelry that gets completely covered by hats, coats, scarves, etcetera so I like my outerwear to sport jewelry of its own.

Finally, a woman was selling the Perlina bag on an online yardsale group. She asked $5 but I didn’t want (or need) it that much. I even went home without the purse but then took a chance and offered $3 which the seller accepted to my happy surprise. It’s very shiny.

P_20160113_164947

I have never referred to a purse as a “bag” before but this one merits the fancy descriptor.

 

4 thoughts on “Outfit for a cold January day (bargain style)

Have something you'd like to say about this?