Short Thought #284

When you’re in a relationship of any stripe (business, personal, intimate, etcetera) and the other person arbitrarily and without notice changes the rules of your engagement, to my mind that gives you license to change the terms as well, or at least to renegotiate them. Maybe you’d like to make a few changes your own damn self. I have found though, that the others don’t typically see it this way. They seem oblivious to the reality that their action doesn’t exist in a vacuum and that you might see their behavior as an opening or opportunity for a reciprocal move. They will act surprised and inconvenienced even if it’s said to them just as I have here.

14 thoughts on “Short Thought #284

    1. Colette Post author

      I hope you don’t find yourself in such a situation. But people can be oblivious/wily/fickle/forgetful and a host of other things that might make ’em cross ye old red line.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Colette Post author

      Oh no, Sharon, I am fine, thank you. It was a reflective post thinking back over years & situations. I thought it might be familiar to others too. When this happens I tend to “crack bad” not cower.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Irked | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?