It must be good; it says so on the label!

P_20150314_204738You’d think I’d know by now not to be suckered in by a name. For far too long, I bought Red Delicious apples because I (naively) assumed they were delicious. I went right on buying them, for years, thinking the fault in finding them UNdelicious was mine. I couldn’t understand why people carried on in general about how wonderful apples were, how sweet, how juicy. I ate the Red Delicious apples only because I thought I should, waiting for the day they’d make good on their name.

Then came a time I noticed there were other, albeit less promisingly named apples available, and I bought some. Oh my gracious! What a difference! These apples were actually good. I WANTED to eat them. Gala, McIntosh, Jonagold, Fuji. Who knew?! And not a one of them claimed to be “delicious” and yet they were far superior. I never bought a stinkin’ Red Delicious again.

You’d think I might have learned. But last year I was taken in by the frozen vegetable brand “Pictsweet©.” Says right there in the name they were picked sweet. Can’t get much clearer than that! And there were fetching vegetable photos on the bright red bags too! Look how delicious they look! So I bought a couple bags of okra and broccoli, two of my favorites (having only been introduced to okra about 3 years ago). My mouth watered. Guess what? They were disgusting. Not even average, but just yicky. Now I imagine they have their fans, but I kind of wonder if people are just trying to convince themselves, as I did with ye old Red Delicious, that they really are “picked sweet” – it says so! – no matter how they actually taste.

This better be the end of this. No more being taken in on a name. Brand it The Most Tasty, Fresh, Scrupdiddlyumptious, Mouthwatering, Succulent Food You Have Ever Had In Your Whole Measily, Forsaken Life© and I shall look away, unmoved. Hopefully.

21 thoughts on “It must be good; it says so on the label!

      1. Deb

        In my area, Washington State, we can get them year round…of course the price goes up in the winter…which is when I tend to look for the more common ‘everyday’ apples 😉 They are LARGE apples in general so you do get a lot of apple for the price.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  1. PrairieChat

    Red delicious are either very good or very bad. When they are good they are crisp and juicy. When they are bad they taste like dry cardboard. I noticed the more rounded they are the worse they taste. The good ones points on the bottom and have definite “sides” showing. Otherwise just buy Honeycrisp or Sweet Tango (in season)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Now see, you’ve studied this matter! Sides?! That is getting tricky…

      I figure if a fruit or vegetable can’t come through for me a solid 80-90% of the time, I don’t likes to take my chances! I don’t think I’ve ever seen Sweet Tango.

      Like

      Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Oh! Clearly I am not up to speed on developments in the world of apples. I need to pay more attention. It’s amazing that they can even do that (although now that I think of it, I am aware of a mango that doesn’t have the stringy stuff – that must have come from a lab).

          Like

          Reply
  2. Kate Crimmins

    Navigating through false advertising is always a trauma. I have been disappointed so many times that I am immune to most of it. But every once in a while it is wonderful. There are many wonderful apples. I agree with the commenter who said the red delicious can be good. Most fruit is picked too soon and doesn’t sweeten as well off the tree. I usually go for Honeycrisp or Pink Lady but Galas and Fujis are dependably good. I have trouble picking out good carrots. When they are good they are sweet. Otherwise they taste like wood.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Oh yes Kate, I have lamented the downfall of carrots – what has happened to them?? The only decent brand I’ve found is Premier but I can’t always find it.

      I think I’ll need to try this Pink Lady. I only want sure things! I feel like that about a lot of food. Fruit and vegetables so often feel like rolling the dice.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Kate Crimmins

        Melons are the chanciest! If it isn’t sweet, it’s no good. You can’t even fake it. Sugar doesn’t help and there is no way I can tell if a melon is good without cutting and tasting.

        Like

        Reply
  3. battlewagon13

    I so understand you! It took me years to realize that red delicious weren’t just the apples that you had to have – because they were – well, delicious. I just assumed that all of the other varieties were for cooking, or mulch, or a combination of both.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

