Does this look “normal” to you?!

I occasionally walk past the local armory. I’ll be honest, I’m not too clear on what they do there; it’s an old building that doesn’t seem to have much activity around it (or perhaps I’m just passing by at the wrong times). In July I was walking by and noticed this unsettling sign so I took a picture thinking I’d share it on the blog sometime. (I half expected, in these touchy/sensitive times, an armed guard to pop out of somewhere and challenge me but none did.)

IMG_20170706_150130_kindlephoto-414718

The date was Jul 6. I’ll have to take their word on this high risk business.

As I say the sign was hardly cheering. What’s odd is the peppy font for AMERICA, considering the scary point the sign is meant to convey, although I’ll grant you that eagle looks scary enough. I didn’t feel under any particular threat. (I just now googled “why was July 6, 2017 a high risk day for terrorist attacks” and got nothing.)

I got to wondering if the sign ever changed, given the general look of disuse about the property so yesterday I had another look. Golly! It had changed. Apparently we all should have felt much better about the state of things yesterday.

IMG_20171005_133824

If I might make a small suggestion to them, I think they should have varying eagle pictures too so that yesterday the eagle could have been smiling or at least not looking quite so severe. He could be eating fries or something, just to demonstrate that we could all go about our business for the day in a relatively relaxed state. Finally, given the seeming importance of the sign, you’d think it might be in more than one language. After all, who is the sign for? Surely not only those entering the building. If it was why post it outside? So it must be for the public’s benefit. Apparently if you are a non-English speaker you’ll just have to wing it.

So anyway, while I was standing there taking the photo I noticed a dark wasp fly by and didn’t think too much of it as the weather has been oddly warm and flying insects are still roaming about. I can’t tell you what made me look up but when I did I was in for a surprise. Check out that structure below the window!

IMG_20171005_134026

Holy moly! Look at THAT!

IMG_20171005_133932_kindlephoto-2117294

GAH!

I’ve never seen a wasp nest like that just sitting out in the open. Maybe that’s because people usually put a stop to it in public spaces, such as on a building. I don’t know but in my personal experience I’ve only seen a nest of this magnitude a few times in wooded areas. Had I thought anybody – well other than the hapless me – would be potentially endangered by the nest, I would have reported it or left a note or some such. But it’s clear by the collection of last years leaves by the door that this entrance doesn’t exactly see a lot of foot traffic. Well, I guess the guy or gal who flips the terrorist risk sign would be about the only person getting close. (Um, how did THAT person or persons miss this thing?!) In the end, I figure those wasps worked awfully hard on constructing their palatial dream home and it would seem a shame, no matter how disgusting/unnerving it might look to me, to knock it down or spray it now. Besides, it’s October. Their happy days are numbered.

 

NOTE: I may not be able to see/respond to comments right away but I always appreciate them!

14 thoughts on “Does this look “normal” to you?!

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I know, I don’t think it does me any good knowing the supposed risk on a day-to-day basis any more than hearing how bad the air quality is on the dial-up weather service, which rates the crappy air by color.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Erika

    Oh my lord! This is the third wasp nest like that I’ve seen someone post over the past week. I’m pretty sure I’d be setting the sign to the red Delta option with that thing nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      battlewagon13 has offered a sound suggestion as to who changes the sign (a 98-year old veteran and the only person to inhabit the place). I had to delete the wasp nest pictures from my tablet because they were creeping me out.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

