Walk this way (or that way)

A couple years ago I heard something about women’s shoes that really stuck with me. I don’t even remember where I heard this, maybe on a TV show. Anyway it was that in a bar men know the women in practical footwear are not there to get laid. True enough if you were to find me in a bar (you won’t but let’s just pretend) I would not be in stilettos or any kind of high-heeled, impractical, painful-to-wear shoes. I would also not be looking for a stranger to go home with. No doubt there are women that defy this theory but maybe not so many as uphold it.

I never did wear stilettos but earlier this year, in what felt like an act of defiance, I even got rid of my last two pairs of dressy pumps (for those readers unfamiliar that is a shoe with a block heel, not a skinny stick heel, one that still adds height of varying degrees). Maybe it’s a middle-aged thing. You kind of have a handle on who you are and what you like and what you don’t. I never liked uncomfortable shoes, no matter how cute. I remember awful times of being so wretched stuck in a pair of painful shoes. By the end of the event or the day all you can think about is getting out of them. This is why so many women take off their fancy shoes when they hit the dance floor at weddings. Let’s not even talk about how said shoes ruin women’s feet and give them physical problems later in life.

It really isn’t like me to ditch something when I don’t have an alternative but I did. In lieu of my last two pairs of dressy shoes, I am not sure what I am going to do when I next need “good” shoes. Before you suggest I get some kind of “walkable” dress shoe, I should interject that one of the pairs I let go of was indeed supposed to be a “comfortable” type. It wasn’t. Here’s the thing. I am tall. I don’t really need height. Isn’t that the point of a heel? Height? (Yes, I know too how a high heel is supposed to rearrange a woman’s posture thereby throwing her butt out to look more sexually provocative. I don’t remember any shoe doing that to my person – although some did make me feel like crawling.)

This doesn’t mean I’m giving up on cute shoes. Oh no. I like cute shoes. I don’t want to go around in boring, practical shoes with the sex appeal of drywall. Somewhere out there the not-too-expensive, wearable dress shoe of my dreams exists. It doesn’t have a substantial heel, it doesn’t have a pointed toe (MY FEET DON’T COME TO A POINT), it doesn’t have no support whatsoever, and it doesn’t make me think about it constantly because it’s causing me pain or makes me afraid of twisting my ankle or falling. It just walks around and looks good.

As my dressy shoes have gone by the wayside, my collection of inexpensive, cute sneakers/tennis shoes/athletic shoes (whatever you want to call ’em) has been building. These shoes make me happy. Let’s take a look shall we? (With a nod to Kate and her post.)

IMG_20170414_084414_kindlephoto-35986243

Several years ago Payless had a promotion where if you filled out an online survey you could get a freebie item or discount (I’m a little fuzzy now on the details) so I kept filling out surveys and going in for free laces. It took awhile for the right shoes to turn up in my discount haunts but bam these look good.

 

IMG_20170414_085344_kindlephoto-36504319

Picked up these co!orful and dainty Danskins for a buck at a big indoor yard sale last year.

IMG_20170414_084244_kindlephoto-35894949

Laces again!

IMG_20170414_085050_kindlephoto-36452161

I got these on Amazon two years ago. I REALLY wanted a pair of fun high-tops. They are a brand you/I never heard of. They also had neon green but these cost less so easy decision. They came with black laces but I switched to these; much better.

 

IMG_20170414_085212_kindlephoto-36413312

Another no-name brand I found on Amazon for $6.50 this year. I was crazy about the design. Love florals against black.

What’s a post on shoes without a little modeling?

IMG_20170416_102242

IMG_20170416_105034

20 thoughts on “Walk this way (or that way)

  1. Kate Crimmins

    Sometimes shoes that were comfortable are no longer. Last night I wore a low heeled boot type shoe. I’ve worn these to dances in the past and they were comfortable. Last night I hobbled home. Maybe I had the wrong socks or maybe my feet swelled. In any case, they may be going the way of any high heels I had. Today I have my Converse knockoffs on. They are Rocket Dogs and much more comfortable than the flat, no support Converse. Very cool. Thanks for the link. Love those Danskins. I love pink shoes.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      That’s a good point; maybe shoes that were, are no longer comfortable. I find too I’ve just kept raising my game and become too intolerant of anything that doesn’t meet my “checklist.” The pink shoes are different for me; I have very little pink in my clothes if any but these were such a great shade.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Aren’t the shoes now great?! Not like when I was growing up. I remember kids “decorated” their shoes with pens and magic markers (not me). I need that one pair of decent shoes for weddings, funerals, etc – boots won’t cut it in summer.

      Like

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Glad you liked it! I had to ponder for a moment just the right word. I love my sneakers too but I can’t quite give up yet on my search for the Holy Grail of comfortable, stylish dressy shoes.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Maggie Wilson

    I’m tall, too – and have never owned a pair of stilettos. Now that you mention it, I can’t remember the last time I wore heels. Or pantyhose, for that matter! Sensible footwear all the way for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      No, I never had stilettos, what for? I still have panty hose that I haven’t worn in years “just in case” even though I always disliked them. I am not ready and may never be for sensible alone. I want cute too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Peg Stueber-Temp and Tea

    I used to have the dread stillettos – in boots. I think I wore them once or twice before consigning them to the darkest corner of my closet.

    I stopped wearing heels a few years ago when I had a continual pain in my heel. It took around 6 months to heal the heel, and I never really went back to anything with a stick heel.
    (there are WAY too many heels in that paragraph…)

    Now – I wear flats – mostly loafers. Sanuk is my brand of choice – they have some of the wildest fabric patterns I’ve seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I think we always (secretly) know why we don’t wear something or another but just wish the problem would magically disappear next time we put it on! I looked up this Sanuk brand. They seem cute but not like they could take much abuse.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Peg Stueber-Temp and Tea

        I’ve got 2 pair that I’ve had for 2 years – the flip-flops are still in damn fine shape, because they’re summer-only, light wear shoes. The loafers have taken a lot of abuse in the 2 years I’ve worn ’em because they’re on my feet continually, and are ready for replacement.

        Still, I’d consider 2 years of fairly regular use on a pair of shoes pretty good.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Under the Oaks

    Love the high-tops! I like them all. I used to be a sneak wearer but I found almost all of them wear a blister at the back of my heel. Now I am a hiking style sandal wearer and my feet are happy. In the winter I still wear them but with quarter socks… I hear the moans… not white socks, and I don’t hike. I wear boots in the winter, too. There is a Sperry canvas shoe I fell in love with because… comfort. Called the Sayel Away Shoe/Sneaker. I bought three pairs because I knew I’d be wearing them the rest of my life. Enjoyed this post! I am a shoe gal… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Ah thanks for weighing in. You got out ahead of the socks-n-sandals thought! You may be right about the chafing on the heel; I wear thick footie style socks and get rid of any shoe I don’t “adjust” to. I have never tried the hiking sandals but am intrigued. I get most of my shoes second-hand and there’s not always much of a selection. I just checked out the Sayel Away shoes, some cute colors plus they don’t have that “orthopedic” look about them. Still, pricey for me!

      Like

      Reply
      1. Under the Oaks

        I got the Sperry’s on sale at our local Dillards… forty bucks. I will wear them till my big toe wears a hole in the top and the heels are down to a sliver… 🙂 I am hooked on these shoes because they are just like a shoe I loved in high school and college. I lived in them. I bought them back then at Venture and I think they were around 15 dollars.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          You do make me think. I had some secondhand Merrell “Breeze” shoes that were SO comfortable and that I loved. Once you have something good (and this seems true of so many things) it is hard to go back. But I looked at new prices after they got shabby and choked. It’s hard for me to adopt a philosophy of paying more for quality that lasts (never learned that young unfortunately) but I’m trying!

          Like

          Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

