I’m bringing sexy (or something like it) back

Like a lot of people I am less active in winter. I don’t belong to a gym – never have – so this means I have to find ways to keep moving, to keep exercising, usually outdoors. Long walks, bike rides and so on, suffice, but geez-o-flip, it’s COLD and WINDY and UNPLEASANT outside. Plus, it’s BORING out, nothing much to see. There are so many more interesting things to look at in nice weather, flowers and birds and people doing stuff.

I’m not sure why a mini trampoline or “rebounder” caught my eye on Amazon last month. Was I looking at hand weights and saw one advertised? I don’t know now. I didn’t understand them, let’s start there. A rebounder?? What was that? I’d never been on a trampoline, not in childhood, not as an adult. I’m pretty sure my parents would have considered trampolines dangerous and I never had the opportunity to bounce on one anywhere else, be it school or at a friend’s house.

I liked the idea of JUMPING just fine. What kid doesn’t have a go at jumping up and down on their bed until they get yelled at to stop?

As I am wont to do, I started reading customer reviews and doing research about the benefits of using a mini trampoline. There are even videos. Some people take “rebounding” VERY SERIOUSLY. I liked what I saw. Trampolines are considered easy on the joints, suitable for any age, and give a good aerobic workout, plus some other high-falutin’ claims about cleaning out your lymphatic system that you can surely read about if you decide to look into it yourself.

I don’t have room for exercise equipment beyond hand weights and pushup bars. There’s nowhere for a treadmill or rowing machine. Unless I got rid of my bed. Or the couch. Or the refrigerator. At just 3 feet across, the mini trampoline appealed for its “low profile.” I know all too well if you store something like this (as opposed to say, a chocolate cake or a massage chair) away where it’s inconvenient, it’s out of sight and  out of mind.

There are two types of mini trampolines, one with metal springs and another with bands. I opted to go with one with bands because it cost less and apparently ones with springs are noisy (and I want to be considerate of neighbors, even when they aren’t considerate of me AHEM). My thinking was if I spent around $20 on a low-end Stamina model and found I liked it, I could always upgrade down the line.

Balance is one of the things that begin to decline in middle age. I truly didn’t know how I’d be at jumping. One suggestion online was that you needn’t even have your feet leave the trampoline surface; you could just move in place and get some benefit. Some of the models come with “balance bars” that you can hang onto while jumping. I figured even if I wasn’t comfortable really jumping, any movement would be better than nothing.

img_20170127_085522_hdr_kindlephoto-6361568

When I first tried my trampoline, I was tentative, afraid of falling through it even though I don’t weigh much. I told myself that even if it broke it probably wouldn’t break all at once and send me flying onto my face on the floor but in stages that I’d notice. The next day, when I put the radio on, and Justin Timberlake’s “Sexy Back” came on the radio, I had gotten over my tentativeness. I was jumping baby! Hop, hop, hop. It felt good. I was bustin’ some moves. Justin and I were bringing sexy back. “Them other boys don’t know how to act. YEAH!”

Is it fun? Yeah, yeah, it is, certainly as compared to other exercises. It’s suggested that you start with short intervals, gradually increasing your time. At this point I set the kitchen timer for 15 minutes and jump away. I mix it up, sometimes jumping up and down, sometimes running in place, or maybe doing little side steps. There are exercises online but I haven’t found the need to look them up yet. Right now, I know I’m getting an aerobic workout and doing something good for myself.

Finding a place to stow in when not in use was a challenge but I came up with this. I moved the couch/love seat out from the wall, leaving just enough room for the trampoline. The slight rearrangement made the living room seating area cozier and more intimate too. Who knew?

img_20170127_090024_hdr

I want to share one more winter thing I do each year to help make sure I don’t let my fitness levels slide too far off. A couple times a winter I try on my “keep me honest shorts” to make sure I can still get into them. It’s a lot easier to STAY in shape over winter than to try to get back there on the first nice day in spring when you want to wear shorts!

img_20170127_084431_hdr_kindlephoto-9754890

Can’t hide in these “keep me honest shorts”

17 thoughts on “I’m bringing sexy (or something like it) back

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Oh yes. Years ago in an exercise class the instructor said it took 6 weeks to get in shape and two to fall out. Words that stuck! When did you use trampolines? As a child or later? Probably a little one would be strange at first I’d think. Less room for error!

      Like

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I hadn’t thought of it either. I guess swimming is the first choice for exercise that doesn’t give your body a pounding but I read good things about the trampoline being easier on the body, knees included. Jumping works muscles I wouldn’t have thought of; initially I felt it in the backs of my calves (and oddly, mid butt).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sheila Moss

        If I could keep my balance, I would get one. Does it bother your lower back? I almost got an exercise bike, but even the folding kind take a lot of space. I need to exercise belly, waist, and arms.

        Like

        Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Any body part that hasn’t been getting used usually hurts when you start something new – usually I don’t know what they are till they start hurting!

          Some brands/models do have balance bars. I do pushups (men’s kind) and handweights for upper body (and miscellaneous other stuff). I despise sit-ups and pushups are good for stomach too. If you’re not familiar with her Dr Miriam Nelson has several good, accessible, books on women’s health and fitness. Strong Women Stay Young, Strong Women Stay Slim, Strong Women Strong Bones. These books really influenced me on the importance of keeping muscle.

          Like

          Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

