My tasteful holiday decorations. No, really.

If I show you these and then tell you I am a believer in tasteful, sedate Christmas decorating, you’re probably not going to believe me. Geez, I’d doubt me. So anyway, I keep my eyes open when I’m out-and-about (a regular theme in this blog) and in that way have acquired many wonderful roadside/sidewalk finds. A bunch of years back I spied these guys, who are a bit over 3′, plus two shorter “tin” soldiers unceremoniously chucked out by the road. They immediately drew me. Not because I wanted giant plastic retro decor for myself but because I thought it might be funny to leave them set up in the yard – preferably where neighbors would get a good eyeful – of someone I knew (I had a person or two in mind, heh). Can you imagine opening your curtains one morning or bustling out the door for work and seeing these? I could!

img_20161209_155511.

img_20161209_155444_kindlephoto-3417517

What happened instead, before I got around to my practical-but-harmless joke, was I got attached to them! I’ve had them probably a dozen years. That’s Snow Man naturally, and the other I like to call Put-upon Santa. His overwhelmed, martyred expression slays me. What’s he got to be so upset about?! The man works but one day a year and elves do sweatshop labor for him the rest of it. Santa needs to take a page from blissed-out Snow Man (maybe it’s his special tobacky) and chill.

5 thoughts on “My tasteful holiday decorations. No, really.

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      If I was a kid I’d be thrilled when they were brought out every year! Yes, Santa has a Sisyphean task – doomed to check over and check over that list for all eternity.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Merry …January | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

