“Making” earrings to match a necklace

I bought this necklace two years ago at an annual, second-hand, vintage costume jewelry sale the local synagogue holds (that’s open to anyone). I was very taken with the necklace. It reminds me of Fall, what with the gold leaves and the autumnal colors. I haven’t worn it too often since because in large part, I didn’t have the right earrings to go with it.

img_20161125_110544_hdr_kindlephoto-1352952

This was taken outside in daylight

img_20161125_111405_hdr

Indoor light. 

While looking at it yesterday it occurred to me I could take pieces from the necklace – that wouldn’t be missed – and make earrings to match. I removed two “glass” (they’re actually plastic) beads and put them on hooks. All this required was a little dexterity, pliers and a spare set of “fish hook” style hooks. This is just a personal preference, but when I have a “loud” attention-getting necklace, I prefer more subtle earrings – and vice versa – so the pieces aren’t competing with each other or it looks like overkill.

img_20161125_113144_hdr_kindlephoto-1407983

Aren’t they sweet? I actually like having two different colors. 

I wore the set yesterday (with jeans and a pretty top, nothing fancy) and it made me so happy.

img_20161125_113239_hdr_kindlephoto-1282643

7 thoughts on ““Making” earrings to match a necklace

      1. Sheila Moss

        I don’t know how to make jewelry but know how to repair or repurpose things I already have. You can take old things that you don’t use much, and turn them into things you like.

        Like

        Reply
  1. Pingback: Making earrings to go with necklaces | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

