Cringe-worthy

This was a long time ago. I was dating a guy who was several years younger than me. How many is up for debate; he was self-dramatizing and a chronic liar and I suspected he was younger than he said (I’d seen his i.d. and he had a convoluted explanation as to the discrepancy). Of course this makes him sound bad, as it should, but he was also smart, funny, and up for fun – which I enjoyed. Initially anyway, he seemed to be a kind, generous soul. Still, he was very young and had a lot of growing up to do. This was wildly demonstrated in one particular incident.

I had driven him back home to his apartment complex to drop him off. We were idling in the parking lot and having a mundane – i.e., about nothing all that important – dispute. He was acting badly and initially refused to get out of the car. I was ticked but held my temper while gripping the steering wheel. Eventually he did get out of the passenger seat. Wisely, I locked the doors because he began to throw a tantrum outside the car and attempted to open the door again. As I drove away this scene culminated, to my horror, with the sight of him in my rear view window throwing himself dramatically and bodily down onto the pavement in a fit.

It’s almost funny now. But I still cringe.

16 thoughts on “Cringe-worthy

  1. Jim Link

    Wise relationship advice here for you here, Collette: You shoulda put your car in reverse and floored the accelerator!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan

    Okay, I’m going to stop complaining that ‘Great Expectations’ matched my up with an unemployed midget who lived ’bout 500 miles away in North Carolina = )
    The him trying to get back in your car sounds intense. I would have froze in panic!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I guess they can’t name the site “Lowered Expectations” huh?! I felt a lot of things at once – none good – when he tried to get back in but was really glad I’d had the sense to lock the door!

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

