Short Thought 163 (winking)

People don’t wink much anymore do they? There are certain days I feel like I go around winking at everybody (not every day or even most), at men and women alike. Winking is flirty and conspiratorial. A younger man winked at me last week. It wasn’t lascivious, but charming actually in its context, and even though I was kind of surprised I took it as friendly/flirty/harmless. It occurs to me that, similar to raising an eyebrow, winking might not be a gesture everyone can physically do. Moreover, I’m sure plenty of people are not comfortable doing it – I’m having trouble even thinking up people I know who DO wink.

13 thoughts on “Short Thought 163 (winking)

      1. vanbytheriver

        He’s proven to be a very old soul…there were signs, even as a toddler. The first time I took my kids to my mother’s grave site, he was 18 mos. old, he quietly went to the woods nearby and formed a crucifix with 2 sticks and placed it in front of her gravestone.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          I think I remember that story from your blog (possibly comments). And yes, who does that? That’s a child you look twice at and say: “Who are you?” “Where did you come from?” (But then, he does have a sensitive mother.)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. edgar62

    Winking — hasn’t this gone the way of the wolf-whistle – considered to be a form of sexual abuse by some. Off-hand I can’t think of anyone who does this these days. I thought it was fun – still think it’s harmless fun, but the PC Brigade think otherwise.

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Well, I’d think it would have to do with context. It’s a bit different from wolf-whistling because that’s historically been something men of a certain age did to women of a certain age (and is known to make many women uncomfortable), whereas winking is less gender or age specific. Grandma can wink at you. I, a middle aged lady, can wink at a little kid or the cashier in a store. It helps if a smile accompanies it and it’s not a precursor to anything else.

      Like

      Reply
  2. battlewagon13

    That’s actually a brilliant observation! Why don’t people wink anymore? I think you may have secretly discovered some Commie plot. As for me, while I don’t wink on a whim, I am perfectly able to wink my left eye, but not my right. What’s up with that?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Practice! Practice my boy! It’ll give you something to do during those dull work meetings you’ve occasionally mentioned. And yes, strangers happily curse one another out and beat each other up over trivial stuff, but winking would be acting too familiar these days I guess.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

