Short Thought 157 (men aging)

There was a short-lived TV show many years back starring the impeccable Richard Dreyfuss. His character was widowed I think, with a teenage daughter and worked in education. On one episode he said that women no longer paid attention to him at his age, they didn’t offer little smiles in passing and so on. In a culture so heavily weighted on female sexuality and its “shelf life” I just hadn’t thought how aging out of attractiveness and sexual viability might be for a man. I’ve never heard a man I know say anything like this, only that character, but it sounded true. It’s a loss for men too.

15 thoughts on “Short Thought 157 (men aging)

  1. Jim Link

    A sightly different variant on your theme, Collette, is realizing that women treat you (me, e.g.) as an old man because you (me, e.g.) ARE! I remember a thirty-something woman holding a church door open for me as we exited mass a few years ago. It was a first for me and quite startling at the time……

    Like

    Reply
  2. George

    I don’t think men feel it or are aware of it as early as women do but it’s definitely there. I think they’re just more careful about how they express it and who they mention it to.

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      George, that’s sort of what I thought, so far as keeping quiet about it. Then again, it occurs to me that some men never stop thinking they are attractive and sexually appealing, independent of anything else (in larger numbers than their female counterparts).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Jim Link

    I remember thinking “Gosh, she actually thinks I’m old.” and then quickly “Uh, because I am old!” Emasculating? Yeah, along with a strong dose of accepting the natural progression of entropy, of accepting what I cannot change, etc.

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Jim, that sounds like a decent attitude. I can’t judge myself by how others see me because it varies so widely it can make my head spin, in relation to age and so many things. Instead I’m more likely to pick out role models for aging, what I want to be.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

