Lights! (no camera, no action)

I always like seeing string lights or other “fancy” lights in other people’s homes, although admittedly, these homes have often been on TV or in movies. I realize they’re sets but I still look around the rooms on the screen to get ideas.

These lights came from a church rummage sale. There’s often various lights, usually Christmas lights, for sale at these events. I find an electrical outlet for a test before I buy. I was enchanted with the intricate design. Also, they can be left up year-round since they’re “non-denominational” – they don’t scream Christmas, Halloween or Baby’s First Birthday! It happens that there already were several oddly-placed hooks in the ceiling so I took advantage of them to string up the lights.

Here’s a “panoramic” shot across the ceiling. This photo doesn’t show the detailed design but I wanted to give you the full-room effect. IMG_20160729_201331_pan.

IMG_20160729_201951

Look at the beautiful design they cast!  

I sprung for this fancy outlet adapter with switch that I saw on Amazon for $3. Isn’t that a clever gadget?!
IMG_20160809_172033.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Lights! (no camera, no action)

  1. Retirementallychallenged.com

    I have long-admired the outdoor lights that are often strung over the outdoor eating areas of restaurants. When I saw that Costco had some lovely, industrial-grade lights for sale, I picked up three boxes. Unfortunately, there they sit in my office… I really need to get them up. Thanks for the prompt!

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Oh me too, I love outdoor lights at restaurants. It makes everything seem special and celebratory. Yes, you must get yours up! It’s such a simple thing but they make me so happy. –Colette

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. battlewagon13

    I put molding up all around our family room about a foot down from the ceiling and then strung rope lights kind of behind tHe molding so that it only shows upward. Perfect indirect lighting for evenings. And I painted the foot between the ceiling and molding a different color and hung various artifacts in that foot-wide area.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Tim! I didn’t know you had this creative side. That sounds really nice. But how did you make the moulding stay out far enough from the wall to put lights behind it? And what kinds of stuff did you put on the wall? This sounds intriguing.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. battlewagon13

        Picture a one inch crown molding just moved down a foot. There’s a natural trough behind it where you can string the rope lights. I then have it on a switch kind of like you show above. I’m a geek for 19th century maritime stuff so have lots of small pictures and pieces of block and rope all around the room in that space. It’s a really easy solution to do but a bit of a nightmare to dust.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Thanks for explaining. I can visualize it better now. I like it! About the dusting… yes, I take that into consideration every time I plot one of my “projects.” Especially things that are supposed to be decorative – a thick coat of perpetual dust kind of take something away.

          Like

          Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

