Short Thought 141 (laughs)

The only time she laughs sincerely, when it’s a pleasant sound, is with her grandchildren. Other times it’s a harsh utterance, a forced bark that has no joy in it, no humor. Maybe it fools people or passes for real laughter though I wonder if others notice or intuit that it’s off.

It makes me wonder about my own laughing and confirms what I already resolved, to only laugh when I really mean it, not because it’s expected or other people are laughing, or to create an impression or because someone will get pissed off if I don’t.

5 thoughts on “Short Thought 141 (laughs)

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I don’t know about you, but when I catch myself doing it, it doesn’t feel good; I lose respect for myself. And there’s nothing like hearing somebody else do something you don’t much care for in yourself to make you realize how it sounds.

      Like

      Reply
      1. tomrains

        I’ve been thinking about this a bit lately, and I have noticed I do fake laugh from time to time. It’s almost more of a chuckle than a laugh. I have a feeling it sounds pretty awkward. I should record it!!

        Like

        Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

