Let’s make wall art from IKEA shelves!

Someone threw out large, open design IKEA shelves. They sat out in the rain for days before I took pity on them. They were too big for me to use as is – 20″ square – and left where they were, eventually they were going to be tossed in the garbage truck. So I had no qualms dismantling them.

IMG_20160506_154120

Previously I had seen an idea that I liked in a magazine using painted wood slats as a wall decoration. Looking at these oversize IKEA shelves inspired me. I used paints I had and decided to do a random pattern on each panel, not matchy-matchy. Initially I thought I’d set them up as squares but realized triangles would look cooler. I was going to have the points touching, but discovered that would make the piece too long end-to-end for where I intended it. So I hung them, one nail apiece, overlapping just a bit; the whole thing is about 6.5′ long and looks vaguely retro – 60’s? – to me in a way I really like. It’s bolder than anything I would have done in years past. Such an easy project and so satisying in the result.

IMG_20160506_154416_kindlephoto-1701814

IMG_20160506_155015

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Let’s make wall art from IKEA shelves!

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thank you! I’ve been wanting bolder art and I sure wasn’t going to buy it. This gave me a low-risk way to try to make some. I still have 3 shelves left but I haven’t thought of anything clever yet…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Let’s make a headboard from IKEA shelves! | WriterInSoul

  2. Pingback: Makin’ great updates to my living room (cheaply) | WriterInSoul

  3. Pingback: The Last of the Mohicans IKEA shelves | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

