Fixin’ up the living room

I was delighted to find two throw pillows in a decent pattern for a mere $1 at a big yard sale (lots of sellers) this past weekend. I’ve been looking for pillows like this for awhile, even on Amazon and in real stores, but was unwilling to pay what they wanted. It seems once you add a high-falutin’ zipper to a throw pillow, the price leaps upward. I wanted zippers so I could take off the covers and wash ’em once in awhile. I am done with washing zipper-less pillows and waiting days for them to dry. I needed them because the couch is a love seat, meaning it’s deep and it feels awkward to try to sit so far back. If you sit normally, your back doesn’t reach the cushions and what’s the point in that?!

 

IMG_20160430_181206

In the last 6 months or so I’ve made significant improvements to the living area. My goal always is beautiful-and-usable. The trouble with being a frugal decorator is waiting for the “right thing” to turn up – cheap. Patience is required. Previously, I wrote about making my own coffee table and although I used it for a year, it wasn’t quite what I wanted.

What I wanted turned up this winter – tossed out of course – a round coffee table. It’s different; a marble top that sets on a wood base. Once I painted the base from its original dark (not nice) shade to white, I was quite happy with it. Free! The couch originally came from a neighbor who bought a new one. It’s actually off-white and the deep red is a slip cover from Amazon. The off-white color is very attractive but I assure you I am not the sort of person who can live safely with white furnishings and fabrics. Sometimes I have the couch all-white and sometimes a mix-and-match, leaving just the seat cover red. Winter seemed the right time for all red, just to have a big punch of color. (Ironing the cotton cover was so horrible that I now feel obligated to leave it on longer to justify all that wretched ironing.)

Here is the whole look, replete with the $1 wall hanging from another yard sale a few years ago; I have no idea what is going on in this painting but I liked it – and the colors worked with the others in the room – and the longer I’ve had it the more it’s grown on me.

IMG_20160430_181510

The 8×10 carpet, which is a great dirt-n-lint hiding shade considering it’s light, was a $10 thrift store find. The trick to buying a second-hand carpet is to look under it where a rug’s true life is revealed. (Do whatever you like to the surface; all mystery stains and weird stuff will still lurk on the underside.) This carpet looked great. You may notice in the left corner below my bird cage decoration.

IMG_20160430_182054

 

 

17 thoughts on “Fixin’ up the living room

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Ah Tim, you happily surprise me. I might have expected you to make fun of my $1 “artiwork!” But you know, thinking about it, the coffee table is much the same with its various shapes; I should probably post a close-up. One looks like Italy!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. vanbytheriver

        It was in a “living” room, that seldom got used. My golden retriever found it interesting, though. Left his mark while back-scratching along the front. ☺ The family room stuff was always earth (dirt)-toned.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  1. Pingback: Makin’ great updates to my living room (cheaply) | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

