(Everything but the) Kitchen Sink Drink

I’ve posted about healthy drinks before. This one is loaded with all sorts of nutrients and it tastes really good! Generally I’ll use my Hamilton Beach© “personal blender” when I’m making drinks because the “jar” (it’s plastic) doubles as a drinking cup and it’s easy to clean up after. However, if I’m going to take the trouble to add so many ingredients, I want enough to make drinks for two days so I use the standard blender. Also– I can cram more stuff into the big blender.

 

P_20160131_121401

The beauty of these drinks is you can use what you have on hand, so it’s not a specific recipe per se. The most recent information I have is that frozen fruits (and vegetables) have comparable nutrients to fresh and sometimes retain even more nutrients, as opposed to fruits & vegetables that have been driven around on trucks for days on end (before arriving shriveled at the grocery store). This drink provided, among others, protein, calcium, carbs, potassium, iron, fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin D. (Vitamin E, B6, Magnesium, Zinc, Folate from peanuts.)

no fat plain yogurt
water
canned pineapple
frozen strawberries, raspberries & blackberries
frozen mango
frozen cranberries (I bought them fresh on sale in the Fall and froze them)
fresh bananas
canned pumpkin
blackstrap molasses (known for iron & calcium)
brown sesame seeds (more nutritious than white, i.e., hulled ones)
quick oats
peanut butter (with only peanuts, no additives)
cocoa powder
nutritional yeast
flax seed (ground)
unsweetened shredded coconut
vanilla extract
cinnamon
chia seeds*

*A word on chia seeds. Chia seeds have been touted for the last several years as this amazing powerhouse of nutrients. They are shelf stable for a long time and don’t need to be ground before consuming as do flax seed. They have lots of fiber and calcium. That all sounded great to me till I checked out the price. They were expensive! So I pretty much blew off chia seeds – deciding I could just make do with other nutritious but less costly seeds – until recently, when I found a 15oz bag for $3. (I immediately wondered what was wrong with them.) My plan was to eat them every morning so I could get bright eyes and a shiny coat or whatever fantabulous results they offered. Basically, I wanted to go through them fast enough to see measurable results, if there are any.

P_20160131_123835

I put them in a jar for storage

P_20160131_123909

Um, let me tell you this. Chia seeds are BORING! I’ve been eating a couple teaspoons each morning and it’s not that they taste bad; they’re just uninteresting. Also, they get stuck in your teeth since they sort of start to melt once they mesh with saliva. I’ve started adding them to baked goods because after two weeks I still have half a bag. After I finish the bag, I’ll revisit this topic to let you know if I can tell any difference (in me that is).

You could certainly add veggies like kale to the drink. Maybe raw spinach. One time I added canned spinach to one of my drinks and it was disgusting.

Some nutritionists would take issue with all the sugar from the fruit, saying sugar is sugar (be it processed or from whole fruits), but I don’t think so. Fruits may have high sugar but they also have so many other things to offer.

14 thoughts on “(Everything but the) Kitchen Sink Drink

  1. Deb

    This sounds good, and definitely a meal with the protein added. I do a simply smoothie often with plain Greek yogurt, some coconut milk to thin, and frozen fruit, usually a mixed variety. No added sweeteners, and I’m not a fan of peanut butter in my drinks. It turns out nice and thick, not too sweet at all, and also has a bit of a tang with the Greek yogurt.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      That sounds good too. I don’t think I can realy taste the peanut butter I add, what with all the competition. You know, I’ve never bought Greek yogurt because of the cost, but I see all these articles saying how great it is.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Miriam

    Not sure if you’re already doing this or not, but if you soak the chia seeds first they swell up in water and a little bit goes a really long way. Just a couple of spoonfuls per cup of water, it makes a gel and can be kept in the fridge for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      No, I didn’t, these are my first ones…I was trying to eat more so I can see any effects plus the portion size is an ounce (if I’m trying to get that 18% calcium). But it”s good to know there’s other options.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Ch-ch-ch-Chia! (seeds that is) | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

