The clothes make the zombie

I watch The Walking Dead. I have pretty strong feelings about it. The characters are so well drawn and the concepts explored are riveting – all the central themes of human existence. Not to mention the show is visually stellar – I totally believe it. It is gory for me so I avert my eyes a lot. That said, after five seasons, I’m used to the zombies to the point where I get distracted by what they’re wearing. What can I say, I like clothes and I always look at what people are wearing, often with an eye for how I’d style them. I’ve started zeroing in on what the dead people have got on and trying to decide if it makes sense.

To my eye, the zombie ladies wear an awful lot of long, shapeless skirts. This confuses me. For one, most of the action has been based in and around Atlanta. It’s not the tropics but it’s a moderate region weather-wise. It’s not like there’s been any snow storms in any of the shows. I question whether women in Atlanta would really be wearing so many long skirts. Or whether women in and around a major U.S. city would be so lacking in style. Where are the short skirts? Denim shorts? Zombie club outfits? Even if you allow the zombies seen aren’t necessarily from Atlanta or even Georgia, they’d almost certainly be from nearby, i.e., warm weather, states. Do women in the South wear so many dowdy long skirts? I’m offended on their behalf!

There isn’t a lot of variety in zombie attire in general, even allowing that their clothes are invariably dirty and mangy looking, and therefore more uniform in appearance. Unless I’m mistaken (and I admit I wasn’t always watching carefully) I don’t think I’ve seen one male zombie with low-hanging pants and boxers hanging out. Or a zombie lady in a bikini. Or one in a tiara. Or some loser in a “I hate fat chicks” t-shirt. Well, why not?

Now, whenever a “herd” of zombies show up in a scene, I find myself scanning their outfits. Looking for something just a bit different. I’m not really sure what this says about me…

19 thoughts on “The clothes make the zombie

  1. David Goorevitch

    I think it shows your impeccable judgement and taste. After all, the zombie attacks are the show’s least interesting facet. I refused to watch the show but my students demanded the right to write spec scripts of the show. I was pleasantly surprised, particularly with the drawn out scenes about memory, nostalgia for civilization and what it means to be human.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Yes. There are many layers to the show. I’ve always been intrigued by the idea that real character shows itself in crisis – and the show rolls that notion around a lot. And the relationships are what keep me coming back. Thanks for weighing in.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Intuition Calling!

    You have made a very strong point there and I commend you for that. Now that you bring up that fact that these ladies..ahem zombie’s are wearing long dresses in such a hot climate surely makes you wonder. I, too am going along with vanbytheriver’s post about less make up on the legs. Tight budget, perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thank you Gail! I watched one of their DVD extras on creating zombie stuff and it was extremely elaborate and painstaking. They’re probably only make 2 or 3 episodes a season if everything was like that!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thanks! They really do make the good people of Georgia seem a bit fashion-impaired. I don’t know about you but there’s only so many killings & people-munching I can watch till my attention wanders to other things…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Zombie wear and Daryl home decor | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

