Brown rice, White bean, & Spinach salad

P_20150727_182020

A lot of times I kind of “wing” my meals. I occasionally pull out recipes but sometimes I’m just not in the mood for instructions and moreover, the odds of me having all the listed ingredients on hand is not great. This was a spur-of-the-moment dish that turned out pretty well. I won’t list exact measurements because it’s not all that crucial.

I had cooked a pot (1 lb bag) of small white beans and was wondering what to do with them. I have a White Bean Tomato Soup that is super easy that I like a lot but as I sit here at the end of July, my tank top & shorts sticking to me in the steamy heat, well, the last thing I want is a big bowl of hot soup.

Instead, I cooked a bunch of Brown rice to mix in and added steam-in-the-bag frozen spinach that I had. Now, by itself I would find this trio of albeit healthy ingredients quite boring, so I added some unsalted peanuts, stuffed green olives halved, canola oil, white wine vinegar, lemon juice, and curry powder. If you wanted to try it, I’d suggest just adding whatever of these ingredients you like or substituting your own. As described, this is a powerhouse, well-balanced dish including Fiber, Carbohydrates, Good fats, Protein, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Iron, and Magnesium. Curry powder has a variety of health benefits (reduces inflammation, aids digestion, has anti-cancer properties, protects against Alzheimer’s).

Part of why I wanted to make the recipe a blog post is so I don’t forget it later! (As I am wont to do.)

5 thoughts on “Brown rice, White bean, & Spinach salad

Have something you'd like to say about this?

