What’s your problem?

Nobody takes as profound an interest in my problems as I do. Once in awhile I need to remind myself of that fact.

I have problems. I don’t have solutions-waiting-to-happen or challenges or any other buzz phrase that waters down or redirects the focus to a brighter, happier place. Where is George Carlin when I need him? He wrote wonderfully of the softening of the English language. He made obvious how insidious it’s become. I think time will remember him as one of the great social critics.

When someone says, “I have a problem,” we all know what they mean. It’s the moment to listen up and offer sympathy or help if needed. Unless’n what they really mean is “I have an objection.”

We say, “Well, that’s your problem,” if we are unsympathetic and/or somebody is jerking us around. Or “I have enough problems of my own, thank you very much.”

I’ve had problems all my life and I expect to have problems for the remainder of my life. They’re like little pets. They change, as in they’re not always the same ones, new ones come in, old ones go away; some drop into the background for a while and then come roaring back, and some just tag along all the time like a cranky best friend.

I used to think problems could or should get solved. I mean all of them and be done with the whole affair. Yes, well. That’s my problem.

13 thoughts on “What’s your problem?

  1. Intuition Calling!

    I would love to put my myriad of problems when they do pop up, in a nice and tiny baby blue box and get a soft pink ribbon and tighten up that sucker and drop kick it way out of the ball park. I get that when we don’t deal with a problem it comes back as you say in a different form like little pets. I find that as I get older and I am that the problems seem tinier and not so much difficult to deal with, like I got this!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Drop kick out of the ball park, hahaha! Indeed!! Gail, I’d like to have lesser, tinier problems, but I haven’t evolved that far. I have improved on not taking on problems which aren’t mine to take on, so there’s progress.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Andrew Davis

    It’s idioms like these that also scream nationalism. Us Americans and our “problems”. Carlin knew very well these idiosyncrasies though people howled at his comedy many missed his irony. He bravely told the truth.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Andrew Davis

        I think we can agree that he was a wordsmith. He was fascinated by the shorthand that took the place of genuine communication. And to your point, he wasn’t a fan of rationalizing. He hated people making excuses rather than taking responsibility for their fuck-ups in life. I miss his observations.

        Like

        Reply
  3. Miriam

    I get tired of all the self-help stuff, the notion that we shouldn’t have problems. Of course life is problematic, and it always has been. What I do now is try to minimize “problems” that don’t need to exist to begin with, by being more selective in how I spend my time and energy. And then I’m pretty accepting about the rest, just try to appreciate good days (or moments) and ride out the bad ones without getting completely unhinged.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thanks for this. You have the right attitude. I could stand to be more like that so far as being accepting. One of the better things I’ve done though, is to keep other people from giving me their problems. When I was younger I somehow mistakenly believed a person could reach an age/place where all was well and you were “done.” It took awhile to understand that if you wrap up one problem, a new one steps up.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

