“Green” Drink

An easy way to get more fruits & veggies into your diet is to drink them. I’ve had a green drink recipe kicking around awhile but hadn’t tried it (I don’t think the experiment I once did spontaneously with fruit and canned spinach – it was nasty – really counts).

The other day at the local Farmers Market I had the good fortune to buy a sizeable bag of kale for $2. Kale is a cool weather vegetable, meaning it’ll taste better when/grown eaten in cool weather, therefore it’s getting a bit late for it. However, I had a lot more confidence in what a bonafide farmer was selling than any kale being sold in grocery stores – which tends to look old & tough – at this or any time of year. I was not disappointed! I tried a few pieces raw and they tasted great.

I doctored the short recipe I had to omit cucumber (not a big fan) and include fruits.

Into the blender I put

*Water
*3 stalks of celery, washed & cut
*A big batch of rinsed kale (with thickest stems removed)
*A handful of frozen strawberries
*Half a frozen banana, sliced
*Cinnamon

Yum! It was really good. I didn’t have to force myself to drink it, I wanted to. I’ll grant you, the color was suggestive of pea soup, but once you get past that, it’s tasty. I think the sweetness of the fruit makes a big difference. This made enough for 2 drinks so I put the remainder in the fridge for the next day.
IMG_20150511_163016

24 thoughts on ““Green” Drink

  1. battlewagon13

    Every morning when she leaves for work, the jolly green giant (my wife) pops a bunch of green things in a blender and then drunks it. No recipe, no plan, the greener the better. It’s a literal disaster and she loves it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      At first I thought you were going to say she handed it off to YOU. Silly me.

      (Personally, I have learned the folly of “winging it” when mixing up healthy stuff.)

      Like

      Reply
  2. vanbytheriver

    Visions of the Ghostbusters’ river of slime come to mind. I drank kale smoothies every day for about half of the year 2012. I used an assortment of berries that I’d frozen, as well as protein powders, etc.When I started adding extracts (vanilla, orange, almond),I knew I was on my way to a cocktail. They gave me tremendous energy, but so did my morning coffee. Like most food fads, they grew tiresome, and I haven’t had one since then. Enjoy while it lasts ! ☺ Van

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

