Signs of Problems…

This week Tim wrote a post on silly signs at his workplace, a follow-up to his earlier post. I enjoyed these, all the more so because I’d been wanting to share with you a couple signs in my community, but first I needed to actually go out and take the pictures, which I have done.

A sign has recently appeared at each of the local playgrounds, and it has certainly caused some reactions.
P_20150417_113153
Now, maybe I could see the wisdom of these signs if playground equipment was still metal, the way it used to be. But most playgrounds around here are now made of a hard plastic-y type material. When I was a kid and touched a hot slide or other metal playground equipment, I just stopped touching it. Nothing like second-degree burns on the back of the legs to wisen up a child right quick!

People said maybe our City was pre-empting, or concerned with, law suits. No doubt. But I kind of have the feeling that citizens who are inclined to sue or raise a flap over their children encountering hot playground equipment are unlikely to be detered by signs. Moreover, I shudder to consider the direction this is leading.

What bothers me about the sign, beyond its obviousness is its size vs the gigantic square post it’s placed on. It looks like a steroid-injected weight lifter with a tiny head.
P_20150417_113121

Hey, how about this: what if a child isn’t looking and RUNS INTO THE SIGN? Will we need a sign to warn people about the upcoming sign? Oh, I’m being silly. That could never happen. No, because children aren’t supposed to run at the playground. That’s right. Check out THIS adjacent sign.
P_20150417_113143
Closeup:

You can see how someone felt about the “NO RUNNING” admonishment.

I’ve saved the best for last. This particular sign is posted at multiple locations surrounding the local lake. I’ve eyed it with bemusement since it appeared. On this occasion, taking a picture for my blog, I felt it needed a little editorial comment. I guess the obvious thing would have been photoshopping but I don’t have photoshop and really, I wanted to see this in person.
IMG_20150417_122448

Now before you ask, although I REALLY would have liked to, no, I did not leave my editorial comment in place. Not long ago I made a smart remark on a public discussion online to similar effect, so, if anyone was paying attention, I already tipped my hand (short of going ahead and signing my name to it). Also, while I think it’s funny as hell, I can imagine those who would not: “Vandalizing public property,” “Encouraging other people to do this sort of thing,” “It’s no laughing matter when a tree limb falls on someone,” etcetera, etcetera….

14 thoughts on “Signs of Problems…

  1. A.PROMPTreply

    These are funny and I am very much amused at your editorial comment! But most of all, I enjoyed your thought process about needing a sign to warn of an upcoming sign! Things really are out of hand! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thanks! This was a fun post to do!! I just shake my head over these things… I’m afraid I could no longer be surprised by a sign warning of a sign. I hope I don’t give anybody any ideas though!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Tim

    Hee hee hee – this made me laugh – thank you. I think there should be a separate warning – either on these signs or on a separate sign – that says “The City Is Not Responsible For Any Slights Or Insults To Your Intelligence Implied By The Following Warnings.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Tim

    As far as those possible falling limbs, I often find caution signs disappointing, like a promise of potential excitement with no follow through. It would be rather awesome if there were always rocks tumbling down the hill next to the highway on my way to my parents’ house, or a moose at every moose crossing sign. Why aren’t there signs cautioning me about and apologizing for these emotional dangers??

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Indeed. When I was a child and we drove to Grandma’s house and passed all those scary “Falling Rocks” signs, I stared out the car window, so scared waiting to see rocks come crashing down into our station wagon. With wildlife, I want to see what’s promised also!

      Like

      Reply
  4. battlewagon13

    That’s hilarious and thanks for the ping backs. When I do signs I feel it’s almost cheating on real blog writing because they’re so ridiculous I literally don’t have to write a thing. I liked your first sign the best. God forbid we may not realize it’s hot. Where is the “don’t lick the playground when it’s cold” sign though? My friend did that when he was young. Had to call an ambulance to peel him off. Wouldn’t have had to if there was a sign.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I never knew any kid who actually did that. I figure we do our blog work in our witty and scintillating commentary around the photos! Glad you enjoyed my signs – I took you for a man who’d appreciate them. Your point is excellent too – cold playground equipment is nothing to fool around with by gum!

      Like

      Reply
  5. daveb42

    Newfoundland has always had a problem with drivers hitting moose at night. So, they put up warning signs. Unfortunately, the signs were very attractive, and people looking at the signs were running into the moose. Instead of fixing the signs, the province put up signs warning drivers about the warning signs.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

