Fake, Healthy “Icecream”

Like plenty of people, I love icecream, but it’s not exactly a health food. Thankfully, I discovered a wonderful fruit-based substitute courtesy of the internet, one that I tweaked a bit. A food processor is needed although a blender might work, I’m thinking, if you didn’t make it as thick. I have a food processor attachment for my blender which works great (I didn’t even know you could buy accessories for blender bases till a couple years ago). The treat satisfies my urge for sweets and it’s good for me. Seriously, I don’t miss icecream when I have this.

It lends easily to variations, depending on what ingredients are on hand.

For this occasion, I combined

-one ripe banana
-frozen mango, frozen blueberries, frozen raspberries, frozen strawberries (the strawberries I bought fresh and froze; the others were store brand frozen berries).
-unsweetened coconut
-brown sesame seeds.

Doesn't that look amazing?

Doesn’t that look amazing?

Other possible options are ingredients like yogurt, pumpkin, peanut butter, cocoa powder, cinnamon, blackstrap molasses, vanilla flavor, or canned fruit. Basically, I just look around and see what I have. I don’t get too freaky ’cause I think something like canned or frozen spinach, for example, could screw with the taste. If you want, add a little water to the mix for a smoother, thinner “icecream,” but watery ingredients like yogurt will also accomplish the same.

Bananas, blueberries, Brown sesame seeds, cocoa powder

Bananas, blueberries, Brown sesame seeds, cocoa powder

Frozen fruit and sweet potato

Frozen fruit and sweet potato

Frozen blackberries help make that gorgeous color

Frozen blackberries help make that gorgeous color

Yogurt, frozen bananas, strawberries, and butternut squash

Yogurt, frozen bananas, strawberries, and butternut squash

Frozen fruit and canned pumpkin

Frozen fruit and canned pumpkin

One last personal note. The glass or kingly goblet in the photo is special. I bought a pair of them for .50 apiece when I was a teenager, from a discount department store. They are solid as all get out, having survived lots of use and many moves. I can’t think of one thing in my kitchen I’ve owned longer. I love to use them here so I can admire the beautiful colors as I eat dine.

33 thoughts on “Fake, Healthy “Icecream”

        1. writerinsoul Post author

          That would be a novelty! I like to feed people, but in the past most of the company I’ve kept weren’t as interested in healthy eating as I am.
          I’m still thinking about the food Maureen brings you.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Mark, I trod in cautiously at first, but the results were so delicious, I grew bolder. I think the key is using more neutral-tasting veggies, like squash, pumpkin, sweet potato. I’m thinking broccoli and fruit would be disgusting… but then again…

      Like

      Reply
      1. markbialczak

        I noticed that in your post, how you avoided the rugged and ragged veggies. I know you to be smart that way, Colette. Some of your shots look berry, berry good. And I like squash, pumpkin and sweet potato singularly …

        Like

        Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Oh come now you brave woman, Van! Brown sesame seeds are unhulled and have more nutrients. The white kind are more like white bread or white rice. I just learned this in recent years. They taste good too. Maybe I should go back in and clarify…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Sesame seeds are your friends | WriterInSoul

  2. Pingback: Fruit Yogurt drink (otherwise called a “smoothie”) | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

