Daily Archives: April 4, 2015

Colette

April 4, 2015

Hey, it’s my 1-year WordPress Anniversary!! I knew I started last April, but didn’t know the date off-hand (numbers not being my strong suit per usual). I wanted to check and when I looked and saw I rolled out my first post one year ago, well I just couldn’t let the moment pass without saying a few words.

First. Thank you. Thank you for reading, thank you for liking, thank you for commenting. The people make WordPress. The people have offered delights. I feel connected to you.

This is my first blog. I really didn’t know what to expect. I think, as is true for a lot of us, about various matters, I worried about the wrong things. It’s different than I thought it would be. Mastering the mechanics behind the scenes – especially when WordPress changes ‘em around from time to time, is more important than I’d have guessed. Part of the reason, in addition to not being unhappy with it, that I haven’t changed the blog’s “theme” (i.e., the look of the blog) – which I chose utterly randomly – is that I’m afraid what might happen! I don’t want to lose features I enjoy, such as allowing readers to “like” comments made by others. Or what if I couldn’t make “Short Thoughts” have that nice blue background?!

I have tremendously enjoyed writing this blog. I was ready for it, you know? At the right point in my life. I sort of knew I’d make it to a year – I had no doubt I had enough to say to get that far. I was tired of waiting – waiting on some nonexistent opportunity to allow me to do exactly what I’m doing here.

The photo which is the header and avatar for my blog is also a year old. I still like it, so it will stay. Still, I’d like to share something current, so I think I’ll mark this occasion of my anniversary by revealing…. my other eye!

All the best,
Colette
IMG_20150123_135440

White Bean Tomato Soup

We’re almost out of the major soup season but not quite, and you can eat this soup hot or cold anyway. This blender soup is so quick & easy. Healthy and delicious too.

Here’s our ingredients.
P_20150404_175154

I used chickpeas but you could use any white bean. I cook my own beans because it’s cheaper and eliminates salt and any added preservatives, but you could substitute canned beans for expediency. I really like “chunky” crushed tomatoes, but regular crushed works too.

The herb is sage. I happened to have some of my own, but store-bought is fine.

Put 2 cups of water in blender.

Add 3 cups rinsed chickpeas (or white beans).

Add 1.5 to 2 cups canned tomatoes. (I used 1.5 cups because that’s what was left in the open can after I made spaghetti for lunch!)

If you, like me, love the kick of lemon juice, add 3 tablespoons lemon juice. If you’re not sure or want a milder flavor, start with 2 tablespoons or less.

Add your sage. I had about 2 teaspoons left so that’s what I used.

Add 1 teaspoon olive oil (it adds a nice flavor touch but can be eliminated to avoid any added calories/fat).

Lastly, I added a bit of freshly ground pepper. I add no salt because the canned tomatoes already have salt (and likely so would canned beans).

Blend! You can heat a cup in the microwave or eat cold.
P_20150404_180107