Conceive this

Something in another post today got me to thinking, for the first time ever, of when I was conceived. I mentally – okay, by counting fingers – tracked back to when it must have taken place. I have no information. I am one of many children and I never heard any stories about conception. No dreamy-eyed tales of romantic nights resulting in “little bundles of joy” (haha! I can barely type that – no bundle of joy, so far as I know, was ever brought home from the hospital to our house).

Anyway, these weren’t the kinds of things discussed under our roof, i.e., conceptions. Not even jokes (in an otherwise “jokey” family) were made – the topic was off-limits. Considering the event of my conception now, I’d like to think it was at least kind of fun, but I doubt it. That said, I will never know.

Do you ever think about your conception? That moment your parents got it on to ultimately produce you? Has anyone ever told you anything about it? Would you want to know if you could?

27 thoughts on “Conceive this

  1. Doobster418

    I actually had never thought about this, but you’ve given me something to think about and I may actually write my own post of what might have happened that fateful night nine months before I was born. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Huh. We were similar but anything conjugal was kept mighty quiet. I got more hints and signs from observing older brothers & sisters around their girlfriends & boyfriends. I was rather clueless.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  2. Andrew Davis

    I was in the middle. older twin girls and a younger sister. I don’t think about my conception but I have my baby book and my mother’s joy just rushes off the pages! I’m sure I was planned. If I were to think about my conception I would imagine it as a well-practiced recital.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Andrew, the “well-practiced recital” you mean? I actually meant the baby book and being planned were nice. That said, I would think a healthy, happy (presumably private) sex life between parents is ultimately good for the whole family. Considering it now, I bet its presence or absence affects everyone (in the family), whether they know it or not. I had not really thought about that particular aspect before…

          Like

          Reply
          1. Andrew Davis

            Actually, I meant your comment about being planned by the church. Beautiful thought to some and creepy to others as if controlled by the church. I knew you meant the baby book and planning were nice. And I agree that parents deserve a happy sex life as well. Look what you’ve started! Opening people’s minds a little wider.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  3. Cristina

    I’d have much preferred to not know, however my mother seems to get a great kick out of sharing with me all…the…time how my father was on his way out the door to work, she “sweetly” asked him to stay home with her instead, he obliged, and voila, 9 months later I arrived. Im glad to be here and all, but really, I could live without the details

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

