A Dark (chocolate) Day

I don’t let myself indulge in a lot of sweets, but not because I don’t want or crave them. Dark chocolate in moderation has been getting good press for years, the higher the level of cocoa, the better. However, it’s pricey. Since I already buy dry-goods groceries from Amazon (they’ve got lots of healthy, tasty Bob’s Red Mill products), I decided to see what kind of deals I might find on a dark chocolate treat. Way back on Jan 18, I placed an order for 55% cocoa dark chocolate candies at an amazing price: just under $4.50 for a bit over a pound! Let me tell you, in case you don’t pay much mind to the going cost of chocolate, this was amazing. And the chocolate pieces came in cute metal tins that I was sure I’d find a use for once emptied. My mouth watered in anticipation. What a swell delight this would be for the long, dreary days of winter.

The other items in the order soon came. But not the chocolate. On Jan 31 Amazon told me by email they “were still trying to obtain” the dark chocolate. If I still wanted it, they said, they’d “keep trying to find it.” Still want it?? FIND it?!? Um, I thought you HAD it, Amazon, as demonstrated by the fact you had a nice picture and description, not to mention took my order for it. I’m not the most tech-savvy soul, but I expect they don’t just cross their fingers and hope their supply meets their orders. I bet they even have some sort of computerized system with inventory and everything! In their correspondence, they went on to say that they’d cancel my order on March 2 if they hadn’t “located it by then.”

I’ve had many positive dealings with Amazon and frequently talk them up; this is the oddest thing they’ve ever said about an order. I picture an employee rooting around in over-crowded bins in dank storage rooms: “Where is that damn chocolate? I was sure I saw some back here. Oh well, maybe I’ll look again next week. Or the week after that. After all, we got all month!

Dreaming of chocolate, I waited it out the entire month of February. It’s March 2. I’m not enjoying scrumptious morsels of chocolate. Oh, it’s a dark day.

20 thoughts on “A Dark (chocolate) Day

  1. Deb

    How odd, and honestly really funny in the way you tell this story, but odd nonetheless. I have never had an issue with Amazon like that, although I don’t order food related items either. I do hope that you were never charged for this non-existent chocolate…If you are fortunate to every get more info on this mystery, please update the blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thanks Deb! Most of Amazon’s emails appear fairly scripted, so those off-the-chart statements really jumped out. They are very good in that they never charge till they ship. I’ll wait all YEAR for that chocolate at that price if they’d let me!

      Like

      Reply
  2. C.E.Robinson

    What a terrible tease that Amazon! Not sure if you’ll ever get it, and wonder about Amazon sometimes! Loved your write-up of that ordeal…hope it does arrive in the mail…someday soon. Christine

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Yes! If I can trust myself (technically any chocolate chips I’ve got are supposed to be for cookies I usually give away, but in a pinch I’ve been know to get into them… ) Ghirardelli is 60% but pricey.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Oh geez why didn’t I think of that? Of course! Maybe it’s not the rainy season or something.

      Oooh, I had to look up your treat to see what it was. I don’t think I can die without trying these.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. errinspelling.wordpress.com

    i’ve been buying groceries from amazon since 2004 & i find when something is a really good price,it’s b/c they don’t have many left..if you put something in your cart for a few weeks & you check it every few days,every time you go back, it seems like the price changes…always goes up on the week-end.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I’ve been buying groceries a shorter time but I watch my cart and wish lists rather hawk-like, waiting for the price(s) I want. Only when something goes up and stays up for a year do I begin to concede it probably won’t come back down!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pingback: “NO CHOCOLATE FOR YOU!!” | WriterInSoul

Have something you'd like to say about this?

