Easy Squash & Red Pepper Soup

The rule of thumb for vegetables is that the deepest, richest colors – dark green, deep red, bright orange – are the most nutritious. I used two, squash and red peppers, to make this easy, no-cook, delicious soup.

I only recently discovered that squash is sold frozen, which is great if you don’t have time, space, or inclination to buy and cook your own. Here’s the ingredients I used:
IMG_20150301_155649

I used these canned peppers but you could buy fresh ones and cook them too.

I used these canned peppers but you could buy fresh ones and cook them too.

I cut up half an onion and a clove of garlic and sautéed them in a bit of oil.

I cut up half an onion and a clove of garlic and sautéed them in a bit of oil.

I put a cup of water in the blender, added the defrosted squash, 5 rinsed red peppers, and the sauteed onions & garlic, and blended till smooth. I heated a cup of the soup in the microwave to eat. That’s it! So good.

Look how gorgeous that color is.

Look how gorgeous that color is.

30 thoughts on “Easy Squash & Red Pepper Soup

  1. Deb

    This looks so good. I’m going to try it and add it to my recipe collection. I love easy and convenient soups like this. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. John Callaghan

    My poor sister-in-law. I’m always texting her with food requests and she not only makes it she drops it off. Maureen tells me to leave Karen (her sister) alone because she is really busy.

    Like

    Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          I was going to ask if you were trading on your charms but thought better of it. Reese’s peanut butter rice Krispy squares? Oh. My. God. Now where exactly in Canada…

          Taco soup? I must Google this.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. writerinsoul Post author

              I googled and it looks like I am currently eating a version! I made something like this last week but without the yummy-but-less-healthy add-ons (cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips). And used Chipotle powder, not a seasoning mix.

              I would lose my head if I knew a Karen.

              Liked by 1 person

            2. John Callaghan

              The cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips, are so good in the soup. But only a little. I just had a Reece’s peanut butter Rice Krispy square. I’m only allowed one today and one tomorrow. So oooo good.

              Liked by 1 person

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Squash is daunting! Wrestling around with those big things, trying to saw it in half with a dull knife! (I paid $1.29 for 14oz frozen, and given how much weight of a fresh one is inedible shell, it seemed like a bargain.) I love pumpkin too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      That’s where I got that big ol’ can too. I freeze them on cookie sheets and then bag ‘em up. I’m cooking for one but cannot resist a bulk bargain! However, making the soup saved me the trouble of freezing the peppers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

