Water, water everywhere, especially in me

This past week, for five consecutive days I drank the recommended eight glasses of water a day. I measured out 64oz each morning, so I wouldn’t be guessing, and also so I could handily see what I was up against. I mostly drink water anyway and a decent amount on a daily basis. Or so I thought. May I tell you that while a half-gallon of water is somewhat visually unimpressive, it is indeed a fuck of a lot of water to consume, in the middle of winter at that?

I know I drink more water in summer, but I wouldn’t have thought my winter intake too shabby. (Now that I think about it, I’ve never seen different recommendations depending on the seasons – which might make sense – it’s always eight 8-ounce glasses.) While other health directives seem to change over time, that one has stayed fairly constant.

Guidelines typically say other (non-caffeinated) beverages and even foods can count toward the total, but for my purposes last week, I found measuring 64oz out to be more exact, and further, I’m not going to try to calculate how much fluid is in an apple.

Water is essential to every level of our functioning. Many people don’t drink enough water. One of the oft-stated rules of thumb is that if you wait till you’re thirsty, you’re too late. Another is that fatigue is often a result of dehydration, so when you’re tired, you should reach for a glass of water. That one is my first line of defense when I feel sluggish. Hunger feelings can be assuaged by drinking water as well.

In fact, I actually felt a bit perkier during first couple days of my experiment. This may have been a sign that I was, in fact, dehydrated. Possibly from the drying effects of winter-heated rooms? Drinking all that water for five days definitely didn’t hurt me. The only thing was – it was really boring. Still, I’m going to make a point to commit to doing this, getting in the 64oz, more often, although probably on the occasional day basis, not for a whole week, during winter anyway.

20 thoughts on “Water, water everywhere, especially in me

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I did feel a little sloshy. People don’t but should – I just checked the Mayo Clinic site (I usually trust them) and they cited 13 cups “total beverages” for men and 9 cups “total beverages” for women. Yowza.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Cristina

        Well there was a time I definitely drank too much water! I was about 7 or 8 yrs old and had just learned of the 8 cups of water a day health directive, although I obviously did not have a clear understanding of it! Thinking I was doing a good thing, I stood in my grandmother’s kitchen and poured glass after glass, consuming all 8 cups at once. I had an immediate stomachache and will never forget how concerned my mother was when I went and told her what I had just done. Thankfully I didn’t seriously overhydrate and all ended well, although I still have trouble drinking water to this day.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. writerinsoul Post author

          Oh my gracious! There you were, trying to do “the right thing!” I can’t imagine how you must have felt, in a child’s body – I couldn’t drink 64oz at once now. Of all the things a mother has to worry about, I bet yours never dreamed that would be one.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Cristina

            I know, my poor mother! We do the most ridiculous things as children, and usually with such innocent and fairly logical (although backward) thinking. I can only imagine what my own babes have in store for me.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  1. markbialczak

    I try to guzzle water early in my mornings and afternoons from liter bottles that I refill from the tap and keep in the refrigerator, Colette. I feel better when I’m hydrated. To the commenter up higher: Don’t count your coffee. That dehydrates you. So does tea, because of the caffeine. And also alcoholic beverages. Counterproductive, those, because they make you take more potty trips and then you still ought to drink that 64 ounces of water … Yes, I don’t want to leave too many of those ounces for late at night, either.

    Like

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

