Short Thought 97 (I said that)

You know what works my good nerves? I tell somebody a piece of information, maybe something I’ve observed about somebody else or a situation, and the person I’m talking to pooh-pooh’s it, saying in so many words that I’m off-base and I don’t know what I’m talking about. And then, and THEN, a bit of time passes, weeks, months, or even years, and that very same person offers up the very same thing I told them as if it’s brand new information they came up with. When I remind them I told them this before, do they acknowledge that or say they’re sorry? Oh hell no they don’t! They usually don’t even remember.

11 thoughts on “Short Thought 97 (I said that)

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I understand that a few of them are all about that bass.

      But quite right – makes me wanna whip out a little recording tape: “Listen up, I’ve got it right here on tape! And do you hear yourself scornfully blowing me off?!”

      Like

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I think it may have something to do with people not being ready to hear it when it’s first said. Whether they out & out dismiss it or whether it sinks into their subconscious only to resurface at a later date (and be trotted out as their own) is less clear.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

