Shedding a “little” light on it

What lurks in the heart of the 3-way bulb?

What lurks in the heart of the 3-way bulb?

I have never had any luck with incandescent 3-way light bulbs (yes, I still have a smattering of incandescents, and no, I’m not hoarding them like some people. You should see the crazed discussions online, like Amazon: give me life, liberty and my incandescent bulbs – I’m pretty sure that’s in the Constitution.).

From talking to people in real life, I know I’m not the only one to have a pricey 3-way bulb soon become a 1-way, invariably leaving only the crappiest wattage in working order, typically a 50-watt.

I’ve had a 3-way incandescent bulb successfully working on a lamp for about a year now. I believe this is a personal best. Each time I’ve made it go through its 3 paces, I’ve been kind of surprised but pleased like getting a present. However, I moved the lamp the other day and now the bulb is flickering and suggesting it’s ailing. Sometimes I feel like I should just take a 3-way bulb and smash it just to get the inevitable over with. I’m pretty sure this isn’t the right attitude.

7 thoughts on “Shedding a “little” light on it

  1. Deb

    My house is still holding onto 3, maybe 4 lamps that use 3-way bulbs. I say a few words each time one passes on and remember my childhood long, long ago when these things were soooo amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I didn’t know about 3-way bulbs (well, like A LOT of things) till adulthood so I am still newly impressed (if only they’d work/last!) I am also impressed you have 3 working! Have you tried the CFL 3-ways? I am nervous to waste money on them…

      Like

      Reply
      1. Deb

        No, not yet as my old ones seem to be hanging on for now, although now that we are discussing them they are most likely mounting a revolt…my outdoor porch light was out this morning (not 3-way but still…) so I bet it won’t be long now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

