Short Thought 94 (life maintenance)

There are particular things that have been said to me that I don’t forget. Once, long ago, when I was in my early twenties, out on my own and working, someone on the job said that 25% of life is maintenance. I don’t know if the guy who said it heard it elsewhere or if the idea was original. The reality of the words made total sense to me though; he meant all the details and tasks that go into keeping your life humming along.

As the years have rolled past, I think about his words and that percentage. Sometimes 25% seems too low.

28 thoughts on “Short Thought 94 (life maintenance)

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Yes, if I didn’t limit “Short Thoughts” to about 100 words I would have gone into exactly that. Like you and your residents, I want to be on top of things and feel like everything is done to keep the machine running smoothly. I see the people not doing 25% (or more) maintenance and their lives tend to be chaotic, frantic messes. Maintaining brings a certain amount of security and peace – controlling the tiny bits we can. It’s a nuisance but baby I love those dividends.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Agreed! I do see that although retired older people theoretically might not have some of the time-sucking maintenance (of young children, full-time jobs, possibly big homes to keep up), other maintenance, more physical and health-related often steps into the “opening”.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Jim Link

    I agree with these trenchant comments……I find it tricky – well nigh impossible – to pull off the Zen meditation trick of loving the quotidian, of honoring the ordinary. Living in the moment as you wash dishes, take a shower, chop wood, haul water. Be here now! , as you shovel snow………..really?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. battlewagon13

    I agree with earlier comments. As you get older its harder and harder to get motivated for new tasks and new challenges. Although i think instead of maintenance going up, its more like a new category of ‘Sitting on your lazy butt’ creeps in more and more.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Julie Winters

    I just love this entire thread and am throwing in my assent that 25% is way too low. I think that Maintenance Fairies might be personal assistants, and I sure can’t afford one of those. I would settle for a laundry fairy and someone willing to do shoe shopping for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Thanks Julie! Hmmm. I don’t mind laundry and I get my shoes almost exclusively from thrift stores/yard sales so that’s not bad, but I do sometimes envy those with Grocery Delivery Fairies.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

