Pizza post

I wanted to take photos of my food for a long time. Now I can. In part I just like to look at photos of food (so much the better if I might actually get to have it), but also pictures remind me of what I cook and inspire me to make dishes again in a way written recipes alone do not. Healthy, delicious pizza is a staple very week. I make the crusts from whole wheat and white flour combined with a small amount of canola oil. The whole wheat makes it healthier and more filling. I always add a drizzle of olive oil on top. The toppings shown are meatless since I’m a mostly-vegetarian (I don’t miss it on my pizzas at all). Here’s a few samples.

Crushed tomatoes, mozzarella, grated Parmesan/Romano, olive oil and fresh oregano.

Crushed tomatoes, mozzarella, grated Parmesan/Romano, olive oil and fresh oregano.


Whole wheat pastry flour crust, diced tomatoes, black olives, onion, and just a bit of mozzarella.

Whole wheat pastry flour crust, diced tomatoes, black olives, onion, and just a bit of mozzarella.


Mushrooms, canned spinach, black olives, capers, mozzarella, olive oil

Mushrooms, canned spinach, black olives, capers, mozzarella, olive oil


Chopped clams, onion, mozzarella, grated Parmesan/Romano, olive oil, oregano

Chopped clams, onion, mozzarella, grated Parmesan/Romano, olive oil, oregano


Diced tomatoes, mozzarella, diced jalapenos, olive oil, chili powder

Diced tomatoes, mozzarella, diced jalapenos, olive oil, chili powder


Fresh spinach, onion, garlic, mozzarella, fresh oregano, olive oil

Fresh spinach, onion, garlic, mozzarella, fresh oregano, olive oil


Red onion, black olives, mozzarella, olive oil, oregano and a smidge of hot pepper flakes

Red onion, black olives, mozzarella, olive oil, oregano and a smidge of hot pepper flakes


Petite diced tomatoes, onion, black olives, 4-cheese mix (Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Asadero, Queso Quesadilla), fresh oregano, chili powder, olive oil.

Petite diced tomatoes, onion, black olives, 4-cheese mix(Cheddar, Monterey Jack, Asadero, Queso Quesadilla), fresh oregano, chili powder, olive oil.

12 thoughts on “Pizza post

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      They ARE fantastic! You could use meat toppings – what makes these healthier than traditional is I don’t pile on cheese, sugary/salty sauce and a lot of oil. I guess I forgot to say that!

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

