Short Thought 87 (bumpkin)

I knew a man who, with his wife, went overseas for work. On a return visit, he and I talked and I said how impressed I was with his new life and what he’d accomplished. He answered that he was “still a bumpkin” there just as he was here. This cut to the heart of it for me because I knew exactly what he meant. Whatever I do, wherever I go, I too will remain a bumpkin.

One thought on “Short Thought 87 (bumpkin)

  1. battlewagon13

    Bumpkins of the world – unite! I thought you were launching into a limerick at first. I’ll finish it for you.
    I knew a man who, with his wife, went overseas for work.
    He didn’t know it then, but he was looked at as a bit of a jerk.
    But I’m a bumpkin, he said,
    With his face glowing red,
    I’ve accomplished nothing – unlike Captain Kirk.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

