Short Thought 71 (elderly)

When I’ve interacted with elderly people who were vulnerable or not entirely on top of their game, I’ve tried to be kind and empathetic, careful not to make them feel bad, the way I hope it’ll be one day if I am the elderly, confused person.

Sometimes though, I’ve dealt with elderly people who became nasty about their limitations, snapping as if I was the one who didn’t know what was what. I don’t care if you’re 108; start calling me “girl” and worse, we gonna have a problem – even while I suspect being mean or getting angry is one of the last powers some older people have left.

9 thoughts on “Short Thought 71 (elderly)

Have something you'd like to say about this?

