Grocery shopping: healthy, healthy, healthy, junky, healthy

Which item doesn't belong?

Which item doesn’t belong?


This is my grocery store receipt from earlier this week: 3 lbs apples, 1 lb lettuce, 1 lb carrots, 1 lb pears, a bag of spinach, almost 2 lbs bananas, almost 2 lbs tomatoes, and… potato chips. Sort of a vegetable, yes?

This list pretty much captures my overarching diet philosophy, that is, mostly healthy with a little bit of junk. Does all the healthy stuff cancel out the occasional junk? I reckon it does, and if not, I am just not willing to never have anything “unhealthy.” How many people get to the end of their life and say, “If only I’d never had any chips. I coulda been somebody?”

I’m not a purist. I get cravings. Mostly I don’t give in, but once in awhile do. To stay honest – and I realize this stickler practice isn’t for most – whenever I have something junky, I jot it on my calendar. That’s how I know this is the second time this year I bought potato chips.

IF chips were healthy, I’d eat them every week. Salty, crunchy, greasy, oh my! A savory trifecta! The chips I got this week were a mixed pack, including two flavored kinds. I can’t say when I last ate a flavored chip (as I’m well aware their ingredient lists are appalling), but when I munched into that first barbecue-flavored chip the other day, my senses flooded with pleasure. Oh man was that good! Potato chips have a secret ingredient that changes an otherwise rational person into a dopamine-filled chip junkie whose only thought is “More, MORE, MORE.”

The bags are labeled in a way that caught my notice.

They're Made from potatoes? Is this anything to be boasting about?

Made from potatoes? Is this anything to be boasting about?

7 thoughts on “Grocery shopping: healthy, healthy, healthy, junky, healthy

  1. visitingmissouri

    I never buy chips, because I will eat them all in fifteen minutes. Sometimes I get one of those small bags at Subway, but that’s all. I need to balance my love for French fries in some way, I guess.

    Your healthy grocery list also made me think of my trip to get vegetables last Monday. The kid (18, 19 years old) told the people in front of me he was hoping to get into culinary school. He bleeped off all my vegetables and got to the napa cabbage. He held it, looked at it from different angles, picked up the picture guide for cash register people, found the closest match and went for Romaine lettuce. Good luck in culinary school, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      That probably worked out monetarily in your favor! (Here, Napa definitely costs more than Romaine.)

      Oh, I can’t stay out of chips either. These are little 1 oz bags, I guess like Subway’s. The first day I had a personal “chip party” & tried each flavor. After that, I can only have ONE per day.

      Like

      Reply
  2. C. E. Robinson

    Not knowing what Herr’s Multi Pack was…I had to look it up! I love potato chips but Oh My! I couldn’t get past the ingredients to even think of savoring that first crunch! Think I’d go for a large order of McDonald’s French fries instead. Hope you see the humor intended!

    Ingredients:
    Regular Potato Chips: Choice Potatoes Cooked in Vegetable Oil (Contains One or More of the Following: Corn, Cottonseed, Soybean), with Salt Added. Sour Cream and Onion Flavored Potato Chips: Choice Potatoes Cooked in Vegetable Oil (Contains One or More of the Following: Corn, Cottonseed, Soybean), Salt and Seasoning Added. Seasoning: Whey, Dextrose, Wheat Flour, Nonfat Dry Milk, Buttermilk Solids, Salt, Corn Syrup Solids, Butter Solids (Cream, Salt), Dehydrated Onion, Sugar, Sour Cream Solids (Cream, Nonfat Milk, Cultures, Monosodium Glutamate, Parsley, Citric Acid, Artificial Flavor, Malic Acid, Sodium Diacetate, and Lactose with Not More than 2% Silicon Dioxide and Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean/Cottonseed) as Processing Aids. BBQ Flavored Potato Chips: Choice Potatoes Cooked in Vegetable Oil (Contains One or More of the Following: Corn, Cottonseed, Soybean), Salt and Seasoning Added. Seasoning: Sugar, Soy Flour, Dextrose, Salt, Paprika, Monosodium Glutamate, Wheat Flour, Maltodextrin, Torula Yeast, Dehydrated Onion and Garlic, Spice, Extractives of Paprika and Natural Smoke Flavor with Not More than 2% Partially Hydrogenated Soybean and/or Cottonseed Oil and Silicon Dioxide as Processing Agent.
    BBQ Flavored Potato Chips: Contains soy and wheat ingredients. Contains sulfiting agents. Blend may contain up to 15 ppm sulfite. Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips: Contains soy, milk and wheat ingredients.

    Like

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

