Short Thought 61 (jumping cat)

I once read that if a cat jumps up on a counter and finds food there once, it’ll jump up on the counter another fifty times on the (off) chance it will find food there again. I believe the point in the original context was about not leaving food out, but I often think of myself in relation to the jumping cat. Where I have found good things before – literal things I mean – I find myself looking again and again trying to repeat my initial fortune. Mostly I don’t, and I don’t think I’m good for fifty more tries, but I do understand that cat.

Have something you'd like to say about this?

