Goin’ for a ride, starin’ out the window

Whenever I am riding along, as a passenger in a car or on a bus (or subway before/after it goes underground), I am constantly looking out the window. Doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen the exact same places – and usually it’s many, many times – because it’s still interesting to me. I’m looking at everything and thinking about it:

What’s that? What are those people doing? Say, I could use that dresser. Get outta the road, squirrel! I wonder who lives there? Oh, I’d be afraid to cash my checks in that store. Why do cars cut in front of buses, aren’t the drivers nervous? What’s it like to work in that building? That guy’s pants should be longer. Geez, I’d hate to be a mail carrier on a day like this.

And so on it goes. On a bus or subway, I get so absorbed I have to remind myself not to forget to get off where I’m supposed to.

I also notice that other adults don’t generally do this. On public transportation, they read, text, make & take calls, look down, sleep. I feel like Ms. Swivel-head my comparison. I am careful not to intrude on other passengers by craning my neck to see this or that, or by inadvertently staring in someone’s direction (no one ever has to sneer, “What are YOU looking AT?”). I’m as discreet as someone looking out the window can be. Maybe, if they pay any mind at all, other people might wonder why I’m looking out the window. I wonder why they’re not.

2 thoughts on “Goin’ for a ride, starin’ out the window

    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Yes! Being driven (assuming you trust the driver), lets you “check out” and get absorbed in all those things out there. If the driver asks me anything about signs, etc., I am little help.

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

