Back the hell off already, I don’t know you!

In public, strangers, men and women alike, are overly familiar with me. Enough so that I sometimes ask myself if I really do know them after all: Am I living my own version of the film Memento?? My memory is gone but I’m the last one to know?

People march right up to me, they act like they know me, they just start talking, they interfere, they offer unsolicited advice, they presume, they get in my space, they make personal comments, and they pay little or no attention to how I’m reacting. Ruling out times when there’s actually something wrong with the person, I’m referencing behavior that is more than casual friendliness. Friendly is fine. I’m friendly! I know the difference. This week alone I had three Close Encounters of the Overly Familiar Kind.

In a store, an older woman who was on her way out, swerved and made a beeline for me where I stood looking at the store circular. She parked herself right next to me to, I’m guessing, look at the circular in my hand. Now, there was a big stack of them sitting right by the door and she was done shopping. I answered her when she spoke – and I took a good look to make sure I didn’t know her, which I absolutely didn’t – but I was perplexed. Also, she had kind of pinned me in, which ya just don’t do, so that with the stack of baskets to my immediate right and her to my immediate left, I was oddly stuck. I didn’t want to be rude, so when I could, I simply took a step forward to create space between us. But that didn’t work, because somehow before she left, she moved again so that her bosom actually touched me. Uh, if your boobs are making contact with me and we are not engaged in a friendly hug because I know you, you are standing too close!

In a thrift store, I was looking at clothes and had several items in my hand. One of the workers passing by suddenly reached to take them out of my hand. Only after the thwarted attempt did she say she’d keep them “at the front” so I’d have both hands free to shop. I looked at her and with some vigor said, no, I was going to try them on (which you are allowed to do, I am just saying). The woman didn’t apologize or say, “oh, okay” or any such thing. After that interaction, I remembered that this store has had trouble with occasional theft so I wondered if the “offer” to hold clothes was actually motivated to prevent thievery. Don’t know, doesn’t matter; ya don’t try to take things from strangers’ hands, especially not those belonging to customers.

At the grocery store, not only did the cashier volunteer he “heard change” in my wallet when it was time to pay for my purchases, he reached across the belt to try to take cash out of my hand. I promise you, I don’t ever dilly-dally around in a store, holding up the line and being a pain in the ass. My stuff is tidily on the belt, and if I’ve got coupons, they are in my hand, as is my wallet and cash or debit card. His impatience or presumption seemed to be more a matter of poor social skills which I might overlook but for the accompanying smugness in this fellow. I did not let him take my money, which I was counting, out of my hand. What I wanted to say was: “What the hell? If I was a 6′ tall, 200-plus pound guy, would you try to take money out of my hand?!”

8 thoughts on “Back the hell off already, I don’t know you!

  1. battlewagon13

    I did a blog about this a while back. I hate these kind of interactions. I find hat when I wear ‘interesting’ shirts that it makes people feel that they can talk to me more randomly. They are wrong and I no longer wear interesting shirts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I remember that post; somebody took you for an employee in a store, yes? I really don’t mind talking, it’s when it crosses that line. I really think women get it worse, always patronized.

      I say wear your shirts! Look at people like they’re deranged when they approach you. I bet you can do that.

      Like

      Reply
  2. HemmingPlay

    When I lived in the city, I used to seem to attract schizophrenics. On the bus. On the bench waiting for the bus. Outside of restaurants. It worried me. I began to wonder id they sensed a kindred spirit, or the voices in their heads were bored and wanted to talk to someone new. I don’t know for sure. But I moved away. This was one reason.

    I believe that women get patronized or imposed upon more than men do, though. Pregnant women have strangers ask to feel their bellies. And stuff like you ran into. I don’t have an answer, other than to nod sympathetically from a distance.

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      I know what you mean about attracting certain types. I do not envy you yours! People like that are unpredictable. And once someone who isn’t “right” latches on, other folks start moving away so you’re stuck.

      I’ve heard worse for pregnant women; that people don’t ask, they just touch. I would hate that.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Julie Winters

    If it’s the store in which I’ve run into you, I know of whom you speak–dude’s got social issues, yes. The last time he was my cashier, he said at least 3 things that bugged the heck out of me, and one of them was indeed currency related. He’s a special case, that one.

    Like

    Reply
    1. writerinsoul Post author

      Ha Ha! VERY interesting. We are grown-ups damnit! A little respect. Wouldn’t he be surprised if I started shouting or smacked that hand. Julie, I grow so weary of special cases….

      Like

      Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

