My summer song (hope the neighbors like it…)

There are certain songs that I associate with periods of my life. I grow attached at some point and almost always remain so. This summer it’s the hard-driving Kongos song, Come With Me Now. I loved it instantly. I have to move when I hear it. Can’t get enough.

The Asian Tiger mosquitoes (bite during the day, repeatedly; carry diseases, love me) are miserable here and have been for over a decade, so for the last several summers, I’ve set up a seasonal screen tent outside. I am only sorry I did not get one sooner. I know now that I literally grieved for the loss of the exquisite pleasure of sitting outdoors in the summer. Just thinking about it, the long years of wistfully looking out from indoors, makes me upset. That’s how much it means to me.

I grow these Black-eyed Susans in the tent with me, right in the soil.

I grow these Black-eyed Susans in the tent with me, right in the soil.

My relaxing pastime is sitting out in the screen tent in a comfy chair, feeling the warm air against my skin, and watching the birds and various flying creatures: butterflies, dragonflies, bees, hummingbirds. Sometimes I read, sometimes type blog posts, and occasionally bring my dinner out. And I like to listen to a small portable radio, as I have since I was a kid. I’m a dial flipper (too much yammering works my nerves), but favor pop, rock, and alternative. It’s a simple thing that makes me happy.

There are neighbors so I generally try to be considerate about noise, but I’m afraid there’s only one way to experience Come With Me Now and that’s with the volume cranked.

Happy, happy, happy

Happy, happy, happy

(Interesting facts about the song and YouTube video.)

4 thoughts on “My summer song (hope the neighbors like it…)

  1. battlewagon13

    I love when you find a song that connects with you. I like Come with me Now as well – but the song that I’m currently cranking every time I hear it is Unbelievers by Vampire Weekend. Every. Single. Time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Have something you'd like to say about this?

